I Am Malala

I Am Malala is the autobiography of Malala Yousafzai, from her life as an activist in Pakistan to her shooting by the Taliban and afterwards.

Okay, I will be the first to admit, I am biased before I even started this book. Malala Yousafzai is someone I really, really admire. If I could be half as brave as her, I would die happy. So I was predisposed to like this book anyway.

What I loved most about this book was not just reading about how Malala got to the point of receiving the Nobel Peace Prize but also seeing exactly why she is fighting so hard for girls’ education. I have always taken it for granted, primary school, secondary school and university but you see how glad Malala is that she got the chance to study at school. You see what drives her on as she hears reports over and over again of women and girls being shot for their education.

Another thing that shines through is how much she loves her country. Not just because its her country but because Swat in Pakistan is her home and she misses it terribly. I didn’t know much about Pakistan, you only hear about in the bad stuff in the news after all, but I learned about it through the eyes of Malala. I saw it through the eyes of someone who loves it but isn’t blind to the faults and that made all the difference.

Malala’s thoughts sometimes diverts onto a side train of thought but it builds up a more complete picture of her life, not just as a political activist but as a teenage girl who misses her home and friends.

I would recommend this book and not just for people to educate themselves through some other way from the media but also because it is an enjoyable book in itself. Five stars because this is one book I bought the hard copy of and not the Kindle version and I don’t regret it.

4 thoughts on “I Am Malala

  1. I LOVED I am Malala! Your review was spot on! I feel the exact same way. I loved learning about the good things in Pakistan, and all their traditions. The one thing that is so admirable about Malala is that she knew how important her education was, and wasn’t afraid to fight for it.

    1. Thank you so much! I’m a bit picky about biographies but this was so worth it. And the stories she picks to tell, you really starting to understood how important education was to her.

Leave a Reply

