A Cat Called Alfie

Edgar Road used to be your typical London street; a road full of people who barely said a word to one another. Then Alfie came along – a big grey ball of fur who changed the lives of every family he met, and brought a community together.

But now a new family have moved into Edgar Road and they, more than anyone else, need Alfie’s help. Can he bring light to their darkest times? Or is it already too late to stop them from falling apart?

Summary from Goodreads, Amazon UK

Considering how much I loved Alfie the Doorstep Cat, I was surprised by this book. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I didn’t think this book was as good as the first. It felt slightly rushed, at least more so than the first book? The conflict of the new family spent a good portion of the book being built up and then it was all resolved really quickly, too quickly for my tastes.

The romance both amused and annoyed me. I could understand Tiger’s frustration, Alfie seemed to be only giving Snowball the benefit of the doubt because he fancied her. Although him getting stuck up a tree was really funny.

Tiger getting a bigger part, Alfie getting stuck up the tree, going to visit one of the families from the first book and Alfie going to the kid’s school were the good parts of the book. And it was easy to read, like the first book.

I have to give this three stars. I don’t regret reading this but I definitely think it lacked something that the first book had.

Leave a Reply

