The Sin Eater’s Daughter

I am the perfect weapon.
I kill with a single touch.

Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girl she truly is.

Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s, some truths should not be told…

Summary from Goodreads, Amazon UK

This is another book where I think the world-building was on point. Like more and more of the world unfolded as the book went along, there was no info dump at the beginning and then nothing for the rest of the book – the history, rituals and customs of the world were revealed as they became plot relevant. And I really liked that. I especially liked the idea of the Sin Eater and it being passed from mother to daughter.

Tywalla is a good character I think. She is very quiet and afraid at the start of the book but with a very good reason, considering the instability of the Queen who governed her life. I really got the sense of how lonely she was as well, isolated from everyone because of this power. I loved when she started to realise how apathetic she had become and how much she had stopped fighting to get herself out of the situation – it was a slow realisation and she kept backtracking but then coming back to the main point. She really developed as a character and I think the love triangle between Lief and Merek was a secondary part of that.

I didn’t like the theme of the book which seemed to be religion=evil, controlling lie and science=good, saving people from themselves. It was quite heavy handed as the book went on and I would have preferred if there had been something about how science with no religion was not the ideal that all countries should be striving for.

That said, I absolutely adored the ending. Having Tywalla on her own (even though there are hints that she is visited by Lief) was an unexpected ending, but one I think worked out the best. And I think it means that Lief has a chance to prove that he really does love Tywalla and that he isn’t lying (after getting her arrested and all that).

I did like it and would recommend it. Four stars it is!

One thought on “The Sin Eater’s Daughter

  1. Pingback: Borrowathon! | Down the Rabbit Hole

Leave a Reply

