Nobody’s Darling

Billy Darling never enjoyed being a wanted man until the day Miss Esmerelda Fine marched into the Tumbleweed Saloon and pointed her derringer at his heart. Lucky for him, she’s a mighty poor shot. Instead of killing him, she hires him to find her runaway brother. He should turn down her offer. He should resist her charms. But he doesn’t. Because there comes a time in every man’s life when he’s got nothing left to lose…but his heart.

Goodreads, Amazon UK

Another Christmas present here and when I read the blurb, I was a little doubtful. Sometimes the main hero of a romance novel can make me want to slap him a little, especially when he’s written as ultimately right in the end but I didn’t feel like that with Billy. The romance wasn’t based on him being an arrogant jerk and Esmerelda liking it for some reason – I actually believed the romance.

The plot outside the romance (I really liked the fact it had a plot outside the romance) was a little cliche at times but I did like it. The Wild West setting wasn’t one I normally read either but again it suited well. It was fun to read and it was different as well.

The one thing I really didn’t like was the epilogue. It was sweet but it felt a little jarring. It felt the romance was trying a little too hard to parallel Billy and Esme – I felt it would have worked better if they had been siblings finding Esme’s things.

Four stars and I would recommend it.

Leave a Reply

