Finished! Done! Completed!

So I finished the draft of I See Fire! Normally when I do Nanowrimo, I meet my word count and then I lose all motivation. Last year for Camp Nanowrimo, I set myself 30,000 word goal, met it halfway through the month and then stopped writing altogether on that novel (did a lot of writing on other things instead). So this year, I am really happy because I met my 50,000 word count goal on the 23rd (when I did a 10k day) and then kept writing until I finished this draft. 

 It’s going to need so much editing (my chapters got shorter and shorter as time went on and it was the most exciting part of the book) I didn’t keep up the breakneck pace I had in the first two weeks, which means I only finished one book instead of two but I’m feeling pretty happy about that. The overachiever in me isn’t so happy, but if I listened to her all the time I would spend most of my time in a corner crying about all the things I couldn’t do. I even managed to send off a short story for the competition, although I don’t have great hope it will win.

So it’s finished. I’m going to do a post next week about what my plans are for it (and the other two books in the trilogy) but for the next few days I’m going to catch up on my reading and other writing pieces and sleep. Sleep is good.

How did everyone do for Camp?

Leave a Reply

