Time to Say Goodbye

Is there ever a right time to let go?

HOW DO YOU LEAVE THE PERSON YOU LOVE THE MOST?

Will Curtis’s six-year-old daughter, Ella, knows her father will never leave her. After all, he promised her so when her mother died. And he’s going to do everything he can to keep his word.

What Will doesn’t know is that the promise he made to his little girl might be harder to keep than he imagined. When he’s faced with an impossible decision, Will finds that the most obvious choice might not be the right one.

But the future is full of unexpected surprises. And father and daughter are about to embark on an unforgettable journey together . . .

Amazon UK, Goodreads

This book was so different to what I was expecting. I mean… ghosts? The dead haunting dreams? When I looked at the blurb, I didn’t imagine the main character would be dead and it was all about how he came to terms with being dead and leaving his daughter.

Throughout the book, Will has to make a decision whether he will stay on Earth forever and be with his daughter, or whether he will leave her and go on to wherever was beyond. I think it was really well done in the whole book that not once did we know exactly what he was going to do and whether that was the right decision. When Ella could see him and he tried to bring up leaving her – I was so sure that he would end up leaving and that would be what broke Ella in the end. Not her father’s death the first time, but his spirit leaving her again. But at the same time I didn’t see how him staying behind could be any good for Ella, especially when she couldn’t talk to anyone about it. And then his father’s death, ouch. Poor Will.

I really liked this whole book. The plot, the side characters, they all came together really well and the secrets behind the family which only came out after Will’s death, that was interesting. And the final decision, I didn’t see it coming and I am really glad the author did it that way. I think any other way and someone would have been lost out and left behind more questions than before (if he had stayed – would the future turn out the same way? If he left – would Ella’s heart be broken by this second leaving of her father?).

One thing I didn’t like was how Arthur didn’t seem to have an opinion on whether Will should stay or go. Yes, it was very noble of him to make sure Will made the decision all by himself but I would have liked it if he had been a little more resolute in what he thought. Or at least shared a little more. But I have to admit, the thought of his wife in the beyond without him, that was a little heartbreaking.

This book wasn’t something I normally read but I really enjoyed it. It was a very sweet book. Four stars, would recommend!

Leave a Reply

