Spookathon!

I saw this post on comfyreading’s blog (here) and thought that I obviously did not have enough to do with finishing a novel, packing to move and actually working in between, so I’ll be doing Spookathon.

Video explanation here

Basically it’s a readathon for 17th-23rd October where you have to read lots of spooky stories. Thrillers seem to be mentioned a lot in the videos, but it’s pretty much anything spooky. There are also readathon challenges and while I may not be very good at them, I love reading challenges. I will also be experimenting with picture links in this post, so beware.

The challenges include:

  • Read a thriller
  • Read a 2016 release
  • Read a book with red on the cover
  • Read a book with a spooky word in the title
  • Read a book with a creature

I will be using books I already have, I have way too many books on Kindle and my bookshelf to buy anything more until I’ve made a dent, plus packing means I need to try and decrease the numbers of books I have on my shelf.

The challenges themselves look easy enough, apart from the 2016 release one which I always struggled with. I succeeded with Habitica’s challenge because I read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child but considering I get a lot of my books from charity shops – I’m going to struggle.

Read a book with a spooky word in the title

Schooled in Magic (Schooled in Magic, #1)

I count ‘magic’ as a spooky word, plus would you look at that cover (enter me taking a moment to celebrate getting the picture to show up in this post). That is a spooky cover.

Read a book with a creature

Studies of Beasties: A gripping adventure you'll love! (Iona Adair Scottish Mysteries Book 1) by [Letson, Polly]

I used the Amazon UK cover because I much prefer it to the Goodreads cover. So there is beasts right there in the title and apparently there is a legendary Beast of Badnoch in it. I got this before this spookathon and I’m excited to read it!

Read a book with red on the cover 

13 Bullets (Laura Caxton, #1)

I got this from a charity shop with a friend. It has vampires, it counts as a thriller I suppose as well and the blurb on the back is pretty exciting.

Read a thriller

The Sun Killer (The Sun Killer, #1)

Another Kindle book I haven’t read but apparently has been languishing for a while. I’m not sure why, the blurb looks pretty awesome and, I’m not going to lie, the title is a draw.

Read a book published in 2016

Boo!

Thank God for Boo and Kindle Unlimited. This has been on my want to read list on Goodreads on the strength of a friend’s recommendation. And that cover is terrifying so I thought why not add a fear of clowns to my arsenal?

 

And that’s it! I will be working and writing at the same time as this readathon so we’ll see if I actually get through them all.

 

4 thoughts on “Spookathon!

  1. I love picking up creepy reads during the month of October. I may need to participate in this readathon next year. I totally agree, that Boo cover is so creepy. I’m already afraid of clowns thanks to It, this may cause a full fledged phobia. Hope you enjoy all your reads!

    1. October, when it just starts getting cold, is the perfect weather to curl up in bed with a spooky book and that’s even without adding Halloween to the mix.
      Definitely have to do it next year. I’ve just discovered (late I know) all these book videos on YouTube so I may end up doing more readathons as well, try to reduce the number of books I already own TBR.
      It’s a fairly terrifying cover. If the book matches up to the cover, I will warn you off 🙂
      Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Spookathon Wrap-Up | Down the Rabbit Hole

Leave a Reply

