Autumn Books!

I got this idea from Kalyn Nicholson’s own video (I adore her channel, the videos are really well made and she has a good variety) and then the many other videos on Youtube with the same idea. I have done four books I’ve read since the start of autumn (1st September) and one book I am planning to read before the end of October. There isn’t a theme, it’s just the books I have read so far since the beginning of September. So five books to read this autumn (or fall if you’re American) this way…

  1. Proxy by Alex London – my review here 
    • As said in my review, I loved this book. And I say this as someone who has gone off dystopias after reading so many books with them in. I won’t go over the same points as I did in my review but loved it.
  2. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
    • I watched the film on Netflix, read this and then watched the film again. The film is a lot more tragic and a lot more moving after you’ve read the book.
    • I choose to believe the Little Prince in the end and not what common sense tells me happened. But I do agree with one reviewer who said this is a book written by an adult for adults who remember what childhood was like.
  3. The Woman In Black by Susan Hill
    • Another where I watched the film before reading the book. I was lulled into a false sense of security by the beginning of the book, which showed how different it was from the film. And then it rips your heart out.
    • The implications of the story in the book are much scarier than they are in the film.
    • Excellent ghost story. Perfect for Halloween.
  4. Embrace the Night by Karen Chance
    • I wasn’t going to review this story because I read it without knowing it was the third in the series. Silly me. Luckily it being the third in the series didn’t impact with my enjoyment of the story at all and now I want to read the rest of the series.
    • Vampires. Magical powers. Seers. Halloween. It all connects!
  5. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
    • I haven’t read this book.
    • The film is out and my friend has been recommending this book forever. So I stole her copy and I’m going to read it before we see the film.
    • ‘adventure in the shadows’? Sign me up!
    • This book I will be reading snuggled up in a warm throw with a small light on and maybe my fireplace app going on my TV.
    • I will be posting a review of this book.

 

Leave a Reply

