Borrowathon Wrap-Up

I managed to finish all six books during the week, partly by not doing anything else for the first two days (I read the first four then) and partly because my books were interesting enough that I kept coming back for more. Some mild spoilers below the cut!

First Borrowathon post

Ink and Bone (The Great Library #1) by Rachel Caine

This was the book where I found the sequel before I found the first book. A dystopia novel where the Great Library of Alexandria survived and now controls the knowledge in the world and a book smuggler’s son is sent to spy on the Library from the inside.

This book was definitely interesting. The nearer the end, the more I got that claustrophobic feeling you get from good dystopias. There was no escape at the end and it ended in a satisfying way for the first novel. I want to read the second one but I didn’t get irritated at the end of the book for ending in too odd a place.

A bad point – I could take or leave the main character and his love interest. The side characters, on the other hand, were far more interesting.

A Breath of Frost (Lovegrove Legacy #1) by Alyxandra Harvey

A Regency romance with magic and witches thrown in is right up my alley. Add in the fact that it’s about three cousins with varying kinds of parents and who are as close as sisters (and bickered like them as well) and it led to me thoroughly enjoying this book. There is also magical boarding school (something which is a favourite trope of mine) and evil, murderous ghosts.

This was just a fun book to read and I will definitely be looking out for the other Lovegrove Legacy books.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

This book I would not have picked up if I had been browsing at the bookshop or the library. The cover and the blurb both screamed contemporary novel where the main character goes off to college and finds herself. I quite frequently find coming-of-age novels boring and the only reason I picked up this book was because it came so heavily recommended.

I really loved this book. I do not regret reading it at all. I thought it would make fun of fandom and writing fanfiction but it did not at all. Cather is a lovely main character to read about, one with obvious flaws but you find yourself sympathising with her and enjoying reading about her life despite that. Her relationships with the love interest, her sister, her father and her roommate are shown to be so different but all equally important. This was a fun book to read and I wasn’t expecting to like it so much.

The Sleeping Prince (The Sin Eater’s Daughter #2) by Melinda Salisbury

This was one of the most disappointing books from this readathon. It wasn’t bad as such, but it definitely did not live up to the first one. I found the main character, Errin, far less interesting than Tywalla and the plot was far more spread out than the first book. I think my dislike of this book comes mostly from a personal dislike. I didn’t like how the plot spun out in this book, I didn’t like a lot of the choices Salisbury made in terms of the characters. I don’t think it was terrible, I just didn’t enjoy it as much as the first book.

Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

It took me a while to get into this book which is why it took four days to finish reading this book while the others all took half a day pretty much. This book, rather like this savage song, got a lot more interesting when the two main characters were put together. Sean and Puck were alright characters apart, they have their own motivations and you wanted them both to succeed (though I still did not understand Puck’s motivation for joining the race – making her brother stay a little longer isn’t going to do anything else?). However, the two of them working together meant that my interest in the book itself went up and it was a shame that they didn’t actually start working together until about halfway through the book.

The actual race only took up a very small portion of the book and it was right at the end. I would have preferred to see more of what happened on the island after the race, like how it affects things after a girl ran in the Scorpio Race. However I did like how they ended the race because I wondered how they were going to accomplish that.

The Bone Queen (The Books of Pellinor Prequel) by Alison Croggon

One of the Goodreads reviews described themselves as being confused most of the time because they hadn’t read the series of which this was a prequel of. This made me wary but I’m glad I read it anyway. I really liked this book, both the characters and the worldbuilding, and it does make me want to read the actual Books of Pellinor series. Cadvan, a very powerful Bard (magician), was exiled for releasing the Bone Queen. Normally when you have a guilt-ridden main character, they are going too far with the self-deprecation and someone will come along and tell them that they’re being short-sighted and it’s not all their fault. It was a relief to read this and have that not happen at all. Like what Cadvan did was horrible and he can never, ever fix the consequences of what he did and that was really refreshing to see. Like he should feel guilty after what he did, and nothing he did was ever going to reverse it. He didn’t give up, however, and I’m glad it all turned out well in the end.

The villain was properly evil and properly difficult to kill, up until the actual climax which was over in 30 pages. The whole book was spent in building up how difficult she was going to be to kill and then it was over in a snap. That was pretty much my main complaint for this book but otherwise, I liked it.

 

Leave a Reply

