5 Books I Wasn’t Expecting to Like (2016)

There are some books I pick up because the cover is interesting or I’ve heard the author is good but the blurb doesn’t particularly impress me or the plot doesn’t sound like something I would read at all. Sometimes I’m right and I really don’t like the book (Attack of the Unsinkable Rubber Ducks springs to mine) but other times I’m pleasantly surprised.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

 

I’ve mentioned this before so I probably sound like a broken record, but I was not expecting to like this book. It’s the college, coming-of-age book that I normally really dislike, but I couldn’t put it down. It was a fun, easy read and though I had to give it back to the library, I’m tempted to buy my own copy.

 

 

Ice by Ulla-Lena Lundberg

Ice

 

I remember where I got this book and I remember how the thing that attracted me the most to this book was the cover and the title. The blurb didn’t quite catch me but it sounded interesting enough so I bought it.

I loved this book. Lundberg’s writing style is a matter of personal taste I think, but I really adored it. The amount of detail that went into the book – I was never bored despite not much happening until the last quarter of the book (and what a twist). I recommended it to my mum, though I don’t think she was so enthusiastic about it, but it is one book I’m keeping.

 

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

The Miniaturist

 

A friend recommended this to me. The blurb doesn’t quite do it justice I feel, for it makes you think the miniaturist is the main part of the plot. But then stuff happens and you are swept away with how much you want this strange, weird family to survive.

When I finished this book, I wasn’t entirely sure how to feel about it but it definitely was not what I expected and I am very glad I read it.

 

The Book of Human Skin by Michelle Lovric

The Book of Human Skin

If anyone asks me what is the strangest book I’ve ever read, I would point to this book. The Night Circus was strange but the blurb made you expect it. The title of this book is fairly creepy but it’s when you start to read and the plot expands over thirty something years and you both love and hate most of the characters, it sucks you in.

 

 

The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden by Jonas Jonasson

The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden

I did not read Jonasson’s first book The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out His Window and Disappeared which was such a big hit with everyone because the blurb didn’t interest me that much. This blurb was far more interesting but, again, wasn’t the kind of book I normally went for. Jonasson is one of those people, like Lundbery above, who has a very unique style of narration and it’s one you either love or hate. Since this book is on this list, I think you can safely assume I love it. The plot was complicated but easy to follow and the way everything tied together at the end was absolutely wonderful. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

