Bookmas Wrap Up

Well, I had a lot of fun during Bookmas. Sometimes I get books that I’m really looking forward to because their summaries sound like a lot of fun and they’re recced everywhere and then I get scared about actually reading them because I’m worried they won’t live up to the hype. Bookmas helped me to push past this and actually read the books I had on my shelf.

I didn’t finish my TBR because I had a lot more Christmas stuff to do than I thought, but I think I did pretty well and the videos were super fun to watch as well. I will be doing full reviews for some of these books as well but this is just a quick wrap-up.

Previous Bookmas post here

Six of Crows – Very good book. The characters were all very interesting, it’s a heist plot done in a very interesting way and I was not expecting that ending. Inej is officially one of my favourite characters and I hope Crooked Kingdom has lots more of her. Plus this book can go on my Diverse December Bingo!

A Court of Thorns and Roses – Interesting twist on the Beauty and the Beast fairytale. I liked it, but I didn’t love it. Apparently the second book is much better so I am looking forward to seeing how the story goes. Doesn’t count for Diverse December Bingo because, and I say this with love, this book is not diverse at all (apart from having a female characters with a variety of different personalities but not races/sexualities).

A Monster Calls – Read this all in one sitting because I really wanted to know more about the monster and how it was going to end. Very good book and really empathised with Conor. Can go on my Diverse December Bingo as well.

The Diabolic – Great premise, great plot, great characters, only to fall down at the end. Pointedly did not put this down on the Diverse December Bingo as I was annoyed at the treatment of [character’s name omitted because of spoilers] as one of the only gay characters in the entire novel.

A Gathering of Shadows – This book was the one I didn’t finish during Bookmas. I definitely do not like this as much as the first book, it’s a lot slower to get into. I like Lila a lot more in this book than I did in the first one but I feel like I make a face everytime romance is suggested between her and Kell. Lila as an amoral sometimes good guy who flits in and out of the story – fine. Lila as a good protagonist and love interest – no thanks.

Snow Like Ashes – This book took a long time for me to get into and while I did enjoy it in the end, I don’t really understand the hype. And then the love triangle came along and I felt myself tense in very much ‘do not want’. Absolutely gorgeous cover though.

Paper Like Fire – Compared to the first one, I found this book much better. The problem I had with the first one (side characters were far more interesting than the main POV character) was much less obvious here because the side characters got much more of a say in this book. The stakes were higher and the plot was better and I just enjoyed it a lot more.

Enjoyable Bookmas! If you have read any of these books, feel free to share your thoughts below! And if you have read A Gathering of Shadows, can you tell me (without spoilers) whether it gets better?

I hope everyone had a great Christmas and if you don’t celebrate Christmas, I hope you had a good Sunday!

 

Leave a Reply

