Holiday Booktubeathon Wrap Up

This was a quick little readathon that I didn’t do as well on as I could have, partly because I was ill but partly because I was torn between how many things I had to get done by the end of the year and then getting none of them done because I couldn’t decide what to work on.

I finished The Games which was a near-future thriller with Frankenstein’s monster outsmarting his creators. And then killing loads of people. It wasn’t a deep thinking kind of book, the characters weren’t terribly well-developed and the whole subplot with Pea didn’t seem to fit very well with the rest of the plot. However I read this book in one sitting because it was fast-paced and action-packed. If you’re looking for a quick book that doesn’t require much thought, then this is definitely the right book.

I read part of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Illustrated Edition). I know the story already but I was re-reading it now I got both Illustrated Editions for Christmas. The pictures are absolutely gorgeous and I am so glad they decided to produce these copies. Really, really nice.

I’m halfway through The Final Empire and I am really loving it so far. It’s more of a heist book than I thought but the world-building and the magic system is just brilliant and I really like the characters so far. I need to finish this so I can return it to the library on Tuesday but that shouldn’t be a problem. I’m very glad I picked this book up!

During this readathon, I read a lot of other books on my Kindle. Quick books that didn’t require much thought but did take up my time I could have spent reading the books for this readathon. However it was an enjoyable few days nonetheless and I’m glad I took part!

Leave a Reply

