New Year’s Reading and Writing Resolutions

Happy New Year!

Reading

In 2016, I had a good reading year. My Goodreads goal was 25 books because I was trying to get back into the swing of reading again. I read 132 books so it can be safely said that I did well in that goal! For this year, I have made the goal of reading a minimum of 80 books.

Now I will be going abroad for eight months and taking physical books with me will take up room in my bags that could be used for other things. I have 32 books on my shelves which I haven’t read. Three are sequels to books I haven’t read, so they can wait until I come back, which leaves 29 books. I plan to read at least 10 books before I leave on the 23rd January. Then when I come back, I will finish the rest of them off before I buy anymore.

I will be doing the Mount TBR challenge on Goodreads (a challenge where you try and get through your unread TBR list, both physical books and e-books). The rule is that you can move up mountains but you can’t go down, so I’m going to start low and say I’ll start on Mount Blanc. 

I also want to read more diversely. I liked the look of the Diverse December Bingo and ohbookish did a post about a yearly Diversity Bingo 2017 and I would like to try to read one book from every square.

I have rediscovered my local library. I won’t be able to use it when I’m abroad but when I’m here in the UK, I want to use it as much as possible. Show my support! I will aim to take 20 books out of the library.

  1. Read minimum of 80 books
  2. Read 10 physical books I already own.
  3. Read 24 books that I already own.
  4. Read a book for every square on the Diversity Bingo 2017.
  5. Read 20 library books.

 

Writing

So I’ve been both successful and unsuccessful on my writing goals this year. I haven’t got a book any closer to publishing, but on the other hand I’ve won Camp Nanowrimo and Nanowrimo all the times I’ve done it. I have been far more frequent in my blog posts, especially now I’m watching Booktube and seeing all the reading challenges going on.

I would like to continue with the frequency of blog posts so I’m going to try and post one book review a week and one discussion post a week. 

On my personal writing front, I’ve got a novella in the works which I’m hoping to get done by the end of January and sent off to my beta readers by then. And I would like to finish the Dragon Keepers trilogy and get the first one at least ready to publish by the end of the year. Basically a book published at the end of the year. 

I see all these great blog posts on wordpress but I never know what to say, or think that no one really cares what I say. However I know how much I like getting comments, so my goal will be to comment at least once a week on someone’s else blog post.

  1. One book review a week
  2. One discussion post a week
  3. One book published (on Amazon) at the end of the year
  4. Comment on someone else’s blog at least once a week.

 

And to top everything off, I’ll do a monthly update about all these goals. It will help to make sure I don’t forget about this goals and will bring my mind constantly back to them.

 

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Reading and Writing Resolutions

  1. Pingback: February Wrap Up (2017) – Down the Rabbit Hole

  2. Pingback: October Wrap Up – Down the Rabbit Hole

Leave a Reply

