A Court of Thorns and Roses

Feyre is a huntress.

She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…

Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyre’s feeling for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.

Feyre must find a way to break a spell, or lose her heart forever.

Goodreads, Amazon UK

This book by Sarah J. Maas has been recced from the moon and back. It is a fairy tale retellings, one kind of book I am really liking at the moment. Did I like this book? Yes, yes I did. Did I want to hug it to myself and thank Bookmas for actually getting me to read this book like Six of Crows? Not so much.

I did really like this book. To compare it to Six of Crows probably isn’t fair because the two of them are just so different, but considering I am predisposed to like fairy tale retellings, I didn’t like this book as much as I thought I did. Or maybe because I read the spoilers for the next book and it tainted my view of this book.

The world itself was absolutely brilliant. I really liked the divide between the human and fairy world, the Treaty, the Wall and how Maas twisted the Beauty and the Beast tale to give us this book, with Feyre being a huntress who killed a faerie out of hatred rather than a desire to defend herself or her family. The different faeries described and the implication that we have barely scratched the surface on the various different types drew me in as well.

The way the curse came about and why Feyre was chosen to be the one to break the curse was very well done and I especially liked how Feyre travelled to save Tamlin after he sends her away. Like the original fairy tale but far more complicated and interesting, with the three tasks and the riddle. The last task, where Feyre has to kill to save Tamlin and his people, that was very cruel and exactly what I was expect from a fey task. Feyre not brushing it off as killing the people for the greater good, but instead agonised over it – that was very nicely done for her character.

I liked the characters. They were all very varied and had their good and bad points, Feyre, Tamlin, Lucien, Nesta. As we explored each of them more, we saw another point of view to their actions. I found the characters interesting and would have loved to see Nesta meeting Tamlin and Lucien.

So, after I finished this book, I read the summary for next two books in this series. I really wish I hadn’t because there were spoilers in those summaries which affected my view of the characters. I’m not sure how the next book is going to change the characters I know but I can only hope I will still like the first book after I read the second.

I would definitely recommend this book, but it took me a while to get into. There was nothing really to pinpoint about why I didn’t like this book as much as I thought I did, so it might just be personal taste (though I can safely say the wine scene in the book was skeevy as hell and I really hope that is addressed in the next book with Rhys). Four stars!

Leave a Reply

