Diverseathon

So stress over my visa meant I wasn’t feeling up to reading or doing blog posts or writing. It wasn’t fun, so now I’m getting back into the swing of things with a readathon! I saw this from one of the Booktubers I follow, squibblereads (her video here), and it struck me as a good idea.

 

As you can see by the video above, this is a diverse readathon which runs 22nd January-29th January, so Sunday to Sunday. It has no challenges, but you make a concentrated effort to read more diversely. And this month the readathon is focusing on #OwnVoices, which by sheer luck more than anything else, I have in my TBR. 

My TBR consists of books already on my Kindle. Considering I shall be on a plane for two days of the readathon, this seemed like a good idea and I can start to get rid of books on my Mount TBR list!

Kindred by Octavia E. Butler

On her 26th birthday, Dana and her husband are moving into their apartment when she starts to feel dizzy. She falls to her knees, nauseous. Then the world falls away.

She finds herself at the edge of a green wood by a vast river. A child is screaming. Wading into the water, she pulls him to safety, only to find herself face to face with a very old looking rifle, in the hands of the boy’s father. She’s terrified. The next thing she knows she’s back in her apartment, soaking wet. It’s the most terrifying experience of her life … until it happens again.

The longer Dana spends in 19th century Maryland—a very dangerous place for a black woman—the more aware she is that her life might be over before it’s even begun. (Summary from Goodreads)

I haven’t looked for anymore spoilers but I’ve been meaning to read Butler for a while and what better book to start off with fantasy time travel?

12 Years a Slave by Solomon Northup

First published in 1853, Twelve Years a Slave is the narrative of Solomon Northup’s experience as a free man sold into slavery. Northup’s memoir reveals unimaginable details about the slave markets, the horrors of life on a plantation, and the dreadful day-to-day treatment of the slaves from the perspective of a man who lived more than thirty years as a free man before being forcibly enslaved. (Summary from Goodreads)

I haven’t seen the film for this because I told myself I was going to read the book first. And I knew this book was going to be harder to read than To Kill a Mockingbird so I’ve put it off a bit. No more!

The Tale of Genji by Murasaki Shikibu

Dating back to the 11th century, The Tale of Genji is often referred to as the first novel with its focus on the livelihoods of the high courtiers of Japanese society. (Summary from Goodreads)

I think this was recommended as a piece of classic Japanese literature and since I like Japanese literature, I downloaded it onto my Kindle. It is over 700 pages long apparently, which is why I have limited my TBR list to three books.

 

So there we have it! I think these are pretty unique (I haven’t seen them on any other TBR lists) and we’ll see what I think of them. Other TBR videos for this readathon that I liked are here: 1, 2, 3, 4.

One thought on “Diverseathon

  1. Pingback: Diverseathon Wrap Up – Down the Rabbit Hole

Leave a Reply

