TimeHopAThon

Readathon time! I do like doing these and I hope to do at least one every month, it’s just a matter of finding them in time.

This readathon is hosted on Booktube (and also has an Instagram component) and the main theme is to read a book from the past, present and future. It’s from 20th February – 26th February, just in time for when my parents arrive in Australia.


Challenges:

1. Read a Classic
2. Read a childhood recommendation
3. A book released in 2016
4. Read a Dystopian/ book set in the future
5. Read an Historical fiction

Since I always want to get my February TBR done as well, I shall be picking books that I haven’t read so far from the list or books off my Kindle that I’ve already bought (apart from the Beatrix Potter book).

  • Read a classic

Now I have Northanger Abbey on my TBR but I’ve already finished that. Another book I have borrowed from Kindle Unlimited and has been on my TBR list for a very long time is The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle

  • Read a childhood recommendation

Cherrie Walker (the Youtuber above, channel here) recommended any of the Beatrix Potter books. I have read Peter Rabbit for sure so for this challenge I am going to read The Tailor of Gloucester by Beatrix Potter. I do remember liking her books and this one looks like a very quick read (besides being easy to get on Kindle).

  • A book released in 2016

This one was a lot harder to find than I thought, considering all the books I thought would qualify were either published in 2015 or 2017. But I’ve decided on Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. It’s been on my TBR list for a while and on my Kindle as well since I heard so many rave reviews about it.

  • Read a dystopian/book set in the future

It’s almost a shame that I’ve finished Imitation because that book would have fit this prompt perfectly. I was going to go for World War Z by Max Brooks which seems to be set in the near-future after the world was overrun by zombies but I think I’m going to go for An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir, which is a dystopian I didn’t realise I had.

  • Read a historical fiction book

Now this one was difficult. I have a lot of historical fiction books I want to read, ranging from the rather lighthearted Lady Emily series by Tasha Alexander, to the far more serious The Woman Who Breathed Two Worlds by  Selina Siak Chin Yoke. But since The Pearl That Broke Its Shell by Nadia Hashimi is on my February TBR already, I’m going to stick with that unless I read it before the readathon starts.

3 thoughts on “TimeHopAThon

  1. Pingback: Because Dragons Readathon – Down the Rabbit Hole

  2. Pingback: TimeHopAThon Wrap Up – Down the Rabbit Hole

  3. Pingback: Because Dragons Readathon Wrap Up – Down the Rabbit Hole

Leave a Reply

