Diversity Spotlight Thursday

DIVERSE SPOTLIGHT

A book blogger meme hosted by Bookshelves and Paperbacks blog where the three main catergories are:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

Basically, I always love new recs for books and taking part in this book meme will help me to find books that aren’t in the popular eye quite so much.

Book I Have Read

Sofia Khan Is Not ObligedSofia Khan Is Not Obliged

‘Brilliant idea! Excellent! Muslim dating? Well, I had no idea you were allowed to date.’ Then he leaned towards me and looked at me sympathetically. ‘Are your parents quite disappointed?’

Unlucky in love once again after her possible-marriage-partner-to-be proves a little too close to his parents, Sofia Khan is ready to renounce men for good. Or at least she was, until her boss persuades her to write a tell-all expose about the Muslim dating scene.

As her woes become her work, Sofia must lean on the support of her brilliant friends, baffled colleagues and baffling parents as she goes in search of stories for her book. In amongst the marriage-crazy relatives, racist tube passengers and decidedly odd online daters, could there be a lingering possibility that she might just be falling in love . . . ?

Goodreads

I haven’t read Bridget Jones so I have no idea how this measures up but I really enjoyed this book. Sofia is funny and sarcastic and although I wasn’t that fond of the guy she ended up with (I think she could do better), her whole family made up for it.

 

Book on my TBR

Sacrifice (Serpentine #2)

Sacrifice (Serpentine #2)

(Serpentine Summary because of spoilers)

Lush with details from Chinese folklore, SERPENTINE tells the coming of age story of Skybright, a young girl who worries about her growing otherness. As she turns sixteen, Skybright notices troubling changes. By day, she is a companion and handmaid to the youngest daughter of a very wealthy family. But nighttime brings with it a darkness that not even daybreak can quell.

When her plight can no longer be denied, Skybright learns that despite a dark destiny, she must struggle to retain her sense of self – even as she falls in love for the first time.

Goodreads 

So the Sacrifice Goodreads summary has a ton of spoilers for Serpentine so I haven’t copied it or linked it here. I read it last year and found myself disappointed with the ending, but the sequel looks like it’s going to make everything better!

I could have put several other books that I’m going to read sooner in this category but I didn’t want to repeat myself too much. Plus I think this series does not get enough hype (the covers are gorgeous as well).

 

Book That Hasn’t Been Released Yet

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

An unforgettable tale of two friends on their Grand Tour of 18th-century Europe who stumble upon a magical artifact that leads them from Paris to Venice in a dangerous manhunt, fighting pirates, highwaymen, and their feelings for each other along the way.

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.

But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

Still it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this year long escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Goodreads

This just sounds like my kind of book. Magical and LGBTQ+ relationships in a historical setting? Sign me up! I’m not such a fan of the cover but then again I’ll probably be reading it on Kindle anyway.

Some other Diversity Spotlight Thursday posts (not current)!

Here, here and here

 

4 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday

  1. I keep reading that people want to read The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue but I do not like the cover as well. It’s really off-putting. It’s actually silly, that I care so much about liking the cover considering that I will also be reading it on the Kindle App/Kindle.

    I have Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged on my Kindle and cannot wait to read it. I didn’t realise that people were saying it’s similar to Bridget Jones – I really hope it isn’t as I didn’t enjoy the films/book that much.

    1. I know! That cover is just so dreadful, I don’t think I would have checked it out if it wasn’t for people talking about it.
      Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged is just such a fun book to read, it’s one you can read on your lunch break to relax from work.

Leave a Reply

