TimeHopAThon Wrap Up

This was a readathon running last week (20th-26th February) and I had five books on my TBR, one for each challenge.

Challenges:

1. Read a Classic
2. Read a childhood recommendation
3. A book released in 2016
4. Read a Dystopian/ book set in the future
5. Read an Historical fiction

How I Did

Read A Classic

I was supposed to read The Last Unicorn and I started the book but I wasn’t able to finish it before the end of the readathon. It’s very classic fairytale with witches, wizards, unicorns, talking animals etc.
Read A Childhood Recommendation

It was anything by Beatrix Potter so I said I would read The Tailor of Gloucester which was classic Beatrix Potter with helpful, singing mice and ‘No more twist!’. It was just a lovely book (although I wish I had been reading the illustrated hardcover instead of the illustrated Kindle version) and just bought back so many childhood memories.
A Book Released in 2016

I read Three Dark Crowns for this category and I did enjoy it, but it definitely did not live up to the hype for me. I was told that it was a five star book and I would adore it and want more of it instantly, and it just didn’t hit those notes for me. That being said, the ending really intrigued me so I would continue to read the series.
Read A Dystopian Book/Book Set in the Future

I put An Ember in the Ashes on my TBR but I haven’t finished it, mostly because it was one of the last books I started. I’m 67% through it on my Kindle right now and I’m enjoying it, I just didn’t finish it in time.
Read a Historical Fiction

The Pearl That Broke Its Shell was on my TBR for this readathon, on my February TBR and was my bookclub’s book of the month. I did enjoy it very much and I don’t think I would have tried it if it hadn’t been on my bookclub’s list. It was about a girl at the turn of the 21st century and a woman at the turn of the 20th century and how their stories paralleled each other. The ending was bittersweet but I found it a good book, though I’m not sure whether I would do a full review on it.

 

So, all in all, I finished three books for this readathon and started another two. It was a good readathon, I liked the books I had finished, but it wasn’t my best ever readathon where I could rave about each book I read. At least I managed to get several books on my Mount TBR!

 

One thought on “TimeHopAThon Wrap Up

  1. Pingback: February Wrap Up (2017) – Down the Rabbit Hole

Leave a Reply

