February Wrap Up (2017)

In terms of numbers of books I read, February was a good month for it. In terms of books I enjoyed, February wasn’t such a good month for me, which was a shame. I did get to some of my books on my Mount TBR list (as in I bought them before 1st January 2017) and they were ones I have been meaning to read for a while. I took part in two readathons this month

I took part in two readathons this month Because Dragons Readathon and TimeHopAThon which were unfortunately at the same time but I really enjoyed them both and would definitely consider doing them in future (maybe with more overlap next time).

Books I Read: 

  1. Northanger Abbey
  2. Intentions of the Earl
  3. The One Memory of Flora Banks
  4. Seven: A Lesbian Snow White
  5. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
  6. Spotlight
  7. Cupcakes, Trinkets and Other Deadly Magic
  8. The Four Streets
  9. Imitation
  10. Liminal
  11. The Secret Eater
  12. The Raven Boys
  13. Laika in Lisan
  14. Heartless
  15. Short Stories From Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists
  16. Short Stories From Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies
  17. Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide
  18. The Tailor of Gloucester
  19. The Pearl That Broke Its Shell
  20. Three Dark Crowns
  21. A Gathering of Shadows
  22. The Star-Touched Queen
  23. Half-Blood Dragon
  24. Shadow and Bone
  25. The Wrath and the Dawn

 

General Impression of February

A lot more books than January but it was mostly thanks to a readathon and reading several short books as well, like the Pottermore series. Without counting the books I read on the readathon which have been on my TBR list for a while, I was fairly disappointed with the books I read this month. Some books were a nice surprise (The One Memory of Flora Banks, The Raven Boys) but most were a disappointment especially after they were hyped up so much (The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, A Gathering of Shadows, Three Dark Crowns). I didn’t read finish any non-fiction this month, though I did start a couple of books and I didn’t re-read any books.

  • Favourite Book of the Month – It’s hard to choose between The Raven Boys and The Wrath and the Dawn but I think I’m going to go for the latter. Far more interesting world altogether.
  • Least Favourite Book of the Month – Again, it’s hard to pinpoint one, so I think Intentions of the Earl and The Four Streets. Both of them are historical fiction and manage to completely remove anything I liked about reading historical fiction of the period. The characters were irritating and shallow in Intentions of the Earl while The Four Streets manage to completely derail the plot into something ridiculous and more than a little disgusting.

 

Reading and Writing Goals Update

Looking at my New Years Reading Resolutions Post, I’ve got 17 books on my Mount TBR shelf and 14 on my Flights of Fantasy shelf. I have been doing well on commenting on other people’s blogs (or at least better than before!) and I’m behind on book reviews, but I’ve been doing far more non-review book posts.

I think I did far better on my Diversity Bingo this month, albeit unintentionally. For diverse books, I read Seven: A Lesbian Snow WhiteSpotlightLiminalThe Pearl That Broke Its Shell, A Gathering of Shadows, The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn. Books I didn’t mention on my last update Bingo post as I read them during Diverseathon but I didn’t read in February include Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged and Coffee Boy. 

With this, I’ve now crossed on ten squares on the bingo square.

Roll on, March!

 

Leave a Reply

