Diversity Spotlight Thursday 16/03/17

DIVERSE SPOTLIGHT

A book blogger meme hosted by Bookshelves and Paperbacks blog where the three main categories are:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

I meant to do this post last Thursday but I was too busy exploring Sydney and forgot to finish it in time!

Book I Read 

A Wish After Midnight

Genna Colon desperately wants to escape from a drug-infested world of poverty, and every day she wishes for a different life. One day Genna’s wish is granted and she is instantly transported back to Civil War-era Brooklyn.

Goodreads

A Wish After Midnight has a similar premise to Kindred, as in a modern-day black woman goes back in time to when slavery was rife and the rights of black people were non-existent and it is a brilliant demonstration of how a book can have a similar idea but be a completely different book at the same time. It doesn’t shy away from the difficult issues of the time and that ending knocked me for six.

 

Released Book That I Want To Read 

We Are the Ants

There are a few things Henry Denton knows, and a few things he doesn’t.

Henry knows that his mom is struggling to keep the family together, and coping by chain-smoking cigarettes. He knows that his older brother is a college dropout with a pregnant girlfriend. He knows that he is slowly losing his grandmother to Alzheimer’s. And he knows that his boyfriend committed suicide last year.

What Henry doesn’t know is why the aliens chose to abduct him when he was thirteen, and he doesn’t know why they continue to steal him from his bed and take him aboard their ship. He doesn’t know why the world is going to end or why the aliens have offered him the opportunity to avert the impending disaster by pressing a big red button.

But they have. And they’ve only given him 144 days to make up his mind.

The question is whether Henry thinks the world is worth saving. That is, until he meets Diego Vega, an artist with a secret past who forces Henry to question his beliefs, his place in the universe, and whether any of it really matters. But before Henry can save the world, he’s got to figure out how to save himself, and the aliens haven’t given him a button for that.

Goodreads

This book has been recced to heaven and back and the summary makes me really curious, not only about how the plot came about but how the book ends. I’m crossing my fingers for a happy ending and I’m really hoping I can get a hold of this book soon!

 

Book Not Yet Released 

A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen, #2)

Gauri, the princess of Bharata, has been taken as a prisoner of war by her kingdom’s enemies. Faced with a future of exile and scorn, Gauri has nothing left to lose. Hope unexpectedly comes in the form of Vikram, the cunning prince of a neighboring land and her sworn enemy kingdom. Unsatisfied with becoming a mere puppet king, Vikram offers Gauri a chance to win back her kingdom in exchange for her battle prowess. Together, they’ll have to set aside their differences and team up to win the Tournament of Wishes—a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor.

Reaching the tournament is just the beginning. Once they arrive, danger takes on new shapes: poisonous courtesans and mischievous story birds, a feast of fears and twisted fairy revels.

Every which way they turn new trials will test their wit and strength. But what Gauri and Vikram will soon discover is that there’s nothing more dangerous than what they most desire.

Goodreads

The sequel to A Star-Touched Queen but this one focuses on Maya’s sister, Gauri. I’m so excited for this sequel and I plan to re-read A Star-Touched Queen before it. I’ll be interested to see what Chokshi does with this new plot.

Spotlight

Birdie Bookworm Blog

Lair of Books

 

 

5 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday 16/03/17

  1. Such great picks! I’ll be looking into A Wish After Midnight, I also want to read Kindred…maybe I’ll do both back to back 🤔 lol. We Are the Ants has also been recommended to me & is on my TBR. I have Star Touched Queen & will be reading soon 🤞🏼 thank you for including me in your spotlight 😃💕

    1. That’s a good idea, but you might want to take a break in the middle with something without such heavy subject matter. But yes, such different books with similar premises. I’ve seen We Are the Ants so many time, it had to go on one of these posts.

      Definitely do and see what you think! I felt the writing style was very fairytale-esque.

      You’re welcome! I pretty much wanted to read all the books on your TBR and I wanted to make sure people saw your post! Thanks for your comment.

      1. Thanks for the tipn😃💕 will do! Omg Red Sister has me so hooked it’s terrible smh I can’t function 🤣 I keep telling my best friend “I’m gonna get fired but just 1 more chapter” lol thanks again 😃💕

  2. I own We Are the Ants and haven’t read it yet. I’m really looking forward to it, and it’s on my list for the challenge I’m taking part of. So hopefully soon. 🙂

    Thank you so much for the spotlight! 🙂

Leave a Reply

