Top Ten Books I’ve Read In One Sitting

Top Ten Tuesday is a blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This time I chose the Top Ten Books I’ve Read in One Sitting. Although it was more ‘ten books I remembered reading in one sitting’ which was surprisingly harder than I thought it would be. A lot of books would have probably been ‘read it in one sitting’ if life hadn’t kept getting in the way as it has a habit of doing.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

This book was the first one that came to mind when I saw the topic for this Top Ten Tuesday. I remember reading this on my sofa alone (my brothers were upstairs reading their copies) and then crying when SPOILER Harry dies. I read it in about two and a half hours and then I felt emotionally wrung out.
And, unlike half of Harry Potter fans, I really didn’t mind the epilogue at all.

 

A Monster Calls
A Monster Calls

This one I was reading right before bed and I ignored how tired I was to finish reading it. I was emotionally wrung out after finishing it but I didn’t cry? Then I went to see the film with a friend of mine and, despite knowing exactly what happens, I sobbed through the last half of the film.

Hands down one of the best books I’ve ever read.

 

 

Fangirl
Fangirl

I read this as part of a readathon and I was intimidated by its size. But I flew through this book, really enjoying it all the way. Yes, there was conflict but it was conflict I could handle (so I didn’t get too much secondhand embarrassment from Cather or emphasise a little too strongly with her). It was just an easy book to read and I really appreciated that, especially during a readathon.

 

 

Coffee Boy
Coffee Boy

Another one that I read during a readathon. This was a short read but it was also really fun and easy! I saw a review which said that this book focused too much on trans issues and so I had some trepidation when going into this book and wondered if it was going to be one of those books that lectured far more than it entertained.

And then it didn’t happen at all. Like Kieran thinks about being trans (hard not to when people don’t use the right pronouns with you) but the main focus is the romance. Exactly how I like it!

How I Live Now
How I Live Now

I watched the film before I read the book and I definitely preferred the book. The film has a pretty graphic rape scene which thankfully does not appear in the book so if that is putting you off like it did me, don’t let it.

This book was short but definitely not an easy read in terms of subject matter. But it was compelling and you wanted to read on and on despite knowing exactly what was going to happen. I felt the romance was the weakest part of the book and preferred the focus to be on Daisy and how she matures but it wasn’t a huge part anyway, far less than the film.

The Giver (The Giver, #1)
The Giver

I couldn’t sleep one night so I thought I would read to try and help me to sleep. Then I ended up reading the whole of The Giver and feeling too awake to go back to sleep.

I know there is a sequel to this but I think this is one book where I’m happy for the ending to be left as it is, uncertainty and all. This is a short book but, again, a very compelling one.

 

 

The Quality of Silence
The Quality of Silence

I was surprised at how much I liked this book. I mean I picked it up because the blurb was interesting but I didn’t think I would be caught by the story as much as I was. As soon as I finished, I gave it to my friend and told her she had to read it right now because this was exactly the type of book she would like.

 

 

 

Frost Hollow Hall
Frost Hollow Hall

This was just an enjoyable book to read. It’s a historical ghost novel with a little bit of romance thrown in but it was just so easy to read. This is another one I lobbed to my friend as soon as she finished and she agreed it was just fun to read.

 

 

 

 

Four In Hand (Regencies, #2)
Four In Hand

Is this book well-written? Nope. Do the characters get well-developed through the book? No. Do I find it a fun book to read when I’m in a reading slump and want to get out of it because it is just so predictable? Oh yes.

You don’t go into this book expecting Pride and Prejudice. You go into this book expecting unrealistic romances, too many characters and fairly ridiculous plots. And that is exactly why I read this book in one sitting. Sometimes you need a little bit of ridiculousness in your life.

 

The Song of Achilles
The Song of Achilles

I read this book ages ago. I don’t really remember much of the details of the plot (apart from the ending) but I’m thinking I should re-read it.

I don’t remember thinking this book was a particularly easy book to read, I think it was a little slow to start with actually, but I did want to find out what happened.

I read this when I was teenager, I should definitely re-read it sometime soon.

 

 

So there’s my list. See anything you agree/disagree with? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

