March Wrap Up

When I first wrote this post, it looked like I was going to have read fewer books in March than in February. Then I had two very long train journeys (15 hours in all) so the number of books I read went up. I enjoyed what I read a lot more than February, which is always a plus I took part in one readathon this month, a weekly one in the last full week of March and it went well.

Books I Read 

  1. An Ember in the Ashes
  2. The Odyssey (Adaptation)
  3. The Story of King Arthur and his Knights (Adaptation)
  4. Mistletoe at Moonglow
  5. Anna and the French Kiss
  6. Gives Light (Gives Light #1)
  7. A Quiet Life in the Country (Lady Hardcastle Mysteries #1)
  8. A Wish After Midnight
  9. Looks Over (Gives Light #2)
  10. St. Clair (Gives Light #3)
  11. Why the Star Stands Still (Gives Light #4)
  12. An Unseen Attraction 
  13. Huntress
  14. The Woman Who Breathed Two Worlds
  15. Noteworthy
  16. The Perilous Life of Jade Yeo
  17. Black Butler Volume I
  18. The Keeper’s Vow
  19. Plot Your Book In A Month… With Scrivener
  20. Leo Loves Aries
  21. The Last Unicorn
  22. The Girl of Fire and Thorns
  23. Ida
  24. Angelfall
  25. Geekerella
  26. Beau and the Beast
  27. The Terracotta Bride

 

Favourite Book

Now this one is hard. I thought it was going to be Gives Light, the first in the series, with An Ember in the Ashes close behind. Then I read The Woman Who Breathed Two Worlds and Noteworthy, loved both of them and was now very torn.

Least Favourite Book

My least favourite book this month was probably Huntress. I could see the appeal of something light and fun but the woman read like a teenage girl, the fatphobia really rubbed me the wrong way throughout the book (her being thin isn’t going to save her from being attacked by monsters for God’s sake) and I was glad to put it down after all that. The Keeper’s Vow was also fairly disappointing after seeing so many good reviews on Goodreads.

Reading and Writing Goals Update

It’s been quite a successful month for both writing and reading! I took part in one readathon which was great in terms of the challenges and in terms of getting me to read some of the books I’ve had on my TBR for ages.

I have read nineteen books which could fit on the Diversity Bingo Square. Well, I’ve read more but 19 squares are filled.  I have now sat down to match up a book with each square on paper, not just in my head, and so it went much easier this month.

I have started a new reading challenge for the year (Beat the Backlist) and so far I have read five books on the TBR, most of which I enjoyed. I’ve read 25 books on my Mount TBR which means I’ve reached my goal of 24! I’ve read 72 books this year which means I’m ahead of schedule and I have 25 books on my Flights of Fantasy bookshelf.

I’ve been successful on my one book review a week and one discussion post a week goal. I’ve been posting comments on other people’s blogs (terrifying though it is) and if you’ve been following my Twitter, I’ve sent a novella off to one of my friends for them to have a read through, get another pair of eyes on it. I’ll listen to any comments she has and see if my writing group is willing to look through it for me. But yes, I got my original writing to a level where I was happy for other people to read it, so big success there! All of my other writing updates will be on my Tumblr blog to try and get some separation between the subjects for people that only want to read book updates/writing updates etc.

I’ll be working in April as well as focusing on Camp Nanowrimo as well. We’ll see how much reading I get done then.

Leave a Reply

