Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

A weekly book meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. A different bookish topic every week and this week it is Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book.

This is such a good topic because it varies so much between people. Some people when they hear ‘coming of age’ or ‘road trip’ or ‘love triangle’ to describe a book will instantly go to pick it up. I would put it straight back on the shelf and back away slowly, unless highly recommended (like Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell). Likewise, there are certain people where if they recommended a romance, I would never, ever pick up that book (people who think 50 Shades of Grey is a well-written, non-creepy romance for example).

Without further ado, my top ten!

1. Mention the word ‘fantasy’. ‘Fairytale retelling’ is also a good one. 

Look, there are a lot of bad fantasy books out there. But mention that it’s a fantasy and I’ll at least read the blurb and maybe the reviews to see if I like it.

2. A LGBTQ+ romance.  

Seriously. Actually, there doesn’t have to be a romance in it. Like an ace person doesn’t have to have a romantic plotline, just any indication that not everyone is cis and straight. You could have a bisexual man not dating anyone at all throughout the whole book, but as long as it’s obvious that he’s bisexual (like in the text, not in an interview), I will still consider that book.

3. Healthy sibling relationships where they actually like each other.

More sibling relationships that aren’t non-existent or unhalthily codependent. As much fun as they are, I would still like to see more sibling relationships where they’re friends first. Leo Loves Aries was one that had this really done well, and the first few chapters of The Witch’s Kiss had a great sibling relationship displayed as well as fulfilling number 2 above me and it made me want to read the rest of the book.

4. If one of my favourite Booktubers recommend it. 

Yes, Booktube has its problems. Too YA, too samey, not enough variety, etc, etc. But I have been introduced to loads of books that I wouldn’t have considered if I hadn’t watched some of my favourite Booktubers recommend them to the moon and back. I follow so many Booktubers that it’s hard to say about any specific one.

5. A beautiful cover 

What can I tell you? I’m shallow. A gorgeous cover will go a long way in helping to endear me to a book.

6. A friend gets really excited about it 

If a friend takes the time to rant about how good a book is, I’m probably going to ask to borrow it so we can talk about it. If I love it, it’s always fun to talk about the book with someone who loves it just as much as I did.

7. A book set an unusual place 

Look, it’s not the only thing that will make me pick up a book but it will definitely intrigue me enough to read the blurb and see if there are any other draws to it. Books set in Alaska, Finland, Russia, Malaysia just somewhere other than the standard United States of America.

8. Historical novels set in an unusual time period

I want to read Walk on Earth a Stranger because it is set during the Gold Rush in America. I want to read Outlander because it’s set in the 1700s in Scotland. I liked reading Lady of the English partly because it’s set in England in the 1100s. Give me some sort of time period which isn’t normally done in fiction and I’ll probably be interested in it.

9. It’s a book club pick 

I find loads of different books this way and generally end up enjoying them.

10. It’s a free arc

NetGalley are sending me arcs of books and in between my usual TBRs and readathons, I’m trying to get through all the ARCs on my phone. I have one book going on my phone, one of my Kindle and one physical copy from my library. That way I always have something to read.

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

  1. Beautiful covers! Yes! I’ve been through some other TTT posts and you’re the first one who mentions book covers and that’s so weird! Because for me it’s actually the first thing I pay attention too. I know it’s wrong and everything but I can’t help it.

    1. You can’t judge a book by its cover but people can and do. There have been several books which I like the blurb about but I was almost put off by the horrible covers. And when it has a beautiful cover, it’s an automatic plus for me.
      I’ve seen a couple of people mention them, so we’re not the only ones 🙂

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book – Down the Rabbit Hole

Leave a Reply

