Top Ten Things on My Reading Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog theme started by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is top ten things on my reading wishlist, which is basically what I want to see more of in books. Tropes, time periods, settings, issues etc.

Arranged Marriage

This is pretty much my favourite trope. I don’t mind how it’s done or who’s involved as long as there is an arranged marriage which leads to misunderstandings and feelings happening with a happy ever after.

Novels set in Japan pre-1900s

I think I have anime to thank for getting interested in historical Japan and then I started doing a Future Learn course about rare Japanese books and then some reading and it all spiralled from here. What I would love is to see some more fantasy books set in this time period, although to be honest I would take more fantasy historical novels however.

Close Sibling Relationships Without Tragedy

To have siblings that are close (not co-dependent and not incest) and for the big twist not to be them betraying each other would be great. I love siblings who would come through thick and thin together.

LGBTQ+ Characters in different genres

Cop thrillers – main character could have a dead lover who is the same gender as them. Fantasy novels – King could be married to a male consort. Literary – so the main character is bisexual, they also have cancer and that’s far more concerning. Basically I want more LGBTQ+ characters in novels that isn’t about them being LGTBQ+. Mask of Shadows did this really nicely.

Books Set In Inhospitable Environments

I liked The Quality of Silence which is set in Northern Alaska in winter. I liked Ice which is set on an isolated island in Finland. I liked Red Centre which is set in the Australian bush. Basically any book set in a place where the environment is working against the characters.

Characters With Unusual Jobs

I liked K.J. Charles series Sins of the Cities partly because all the characters have jobs which you don’t normally see in historical novels. I liked books which focus on the character’s job especially when it’s unusual.

Sci-Fi Novels Not About War or Destruction

I’ve started reading more sci-fi recently and I would love to see more sci-fi which isn’t about war or a dystopian sci-fi. More Star Trek, less Star Wars (although Star Trek had plenty of war and destruction in it I know).

Strong Female Relationships

Platonic, romantic, antagonistic, just more women having strong relationships with each other. As much I love the Shades of Magic series, the fact that Lila Bard is one of the only main female characters in the series and she actively looks down on other women is not a strength of the series.

Modern Setting Where Magic Is Known

I love urban fantasy books where magic has to be hidden from the world. Where you have a coven of witches who can do powerful magic but hide it from the world or werewolves that operate right under everyone’s noses. But I wouldn’t mind having books where magic is open in front of everyone. Where witches have regular meet ups in night cafes during the full moon or where werewolves have regular competitions between themselves to see who’s the strongest and fastest. Where vampires can buy blood substitutes from the supermarkets. Where magic is a part of regular life.

SFF Books Set In Places Other Than America

I don’t see a lot of SFF books set in South America or Africa so that would be good. Or somewhere else in Europe that isn’t the UK (or Russia). I’ve read some SFF books set in China which I loved and I’m always on the lookout for more.

 

So that’s my list! Agree with any? Disagree? Do you have any of your own? Let me know in the comments!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Things on My Reading Wishlist

  1. LGBTQ+ characters in books that are not about being LGBTQ+ are exactly what we need! Books where the character’s only trait isn’t just that they’re gay, bisexual, asexual, etc. Also modern settings where magic is known would be awesome. I kind of watched True Blood on and off, but that could be a good example! Where all the vampires “came out of the coffin.” Thanks for sharing!

    1. I know! I love reading books where a LGBTQ+ character comes into their sexuality and gets a partner, but it’s also nice where it’s just an accepted part of the character while they’re off saving the world etc.
      I didn’t realise True Blood was like that! I got vampire-exhaustion and pretty much avoided the stuff with vampires in. The nearest I found was shows like The Good Witch which is kind of the mood I was looking for.
      I’m glad you liked my post!

      1. Totally agree! I do like coming to terms with your sexuality and stuff, but sometimes it would be nice to just have books where they know their sexuality and everything kind of happens the way it would in other contemporary, fantasy, whatever books with heterosexual characters.

        I only watched True Blood on and off, but humans were aware vampires existed. And they had something called “True Blood,” which was fake human blood. It was interesting because it was different than the typical, “Oh my I’ve just discovered vampires are real and I cannot tell anyone,” story we usually get.

      2. I’ll definitely have to check out True Blood then!
        I know, fic where they are included in the story are always welcome. Bookishly Ever After was a recent book I read where the main character’s friend had a girlfriend and it was just an accepted part of the story and I really appreciated that.

    1. I know! It seems siblings are only there to betray each other or be distant and I wish they had more of the other way around.
      Thanks for the link!

  2. I definitely agree, I would love more female relationships where it also isn’t so catty or looking down upon. I think having a strong sibling relationship is a good one! I can’t think of many books like that off the top of my head or even if I’ve read any.

    I would definitely read a book where magic is well known and like a monthly witch meet up would be pretty awesome!

    – Tina @ As Told By Tina

    1. I’m just reading a book where the main female character looks down on other women a lot and it is so grating!
      I read the first part of an ARC where the sibling relationship was strong and they were supporting each other in both the magical and non-magical problems and I got a craving for more!
      A monthly witch meet up – now that is something I would definitely like to see. Like a bookclub but with witch problems.

Leave a Reply

