Unpopular Opinions Tag

I’ve seen this book tag so often but then someone I followed did it and I finally got around to doing it. The questions seem to vary for this tag, so I’m doing the one by The Little Contemporary Corner.

And if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged!

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns, #1)
This opinion probably isn’t that unpopular considering I have heard people say it before but this book was so hyped up and I was so bored for about three quarters of the book. I actually gave it four stars when I read it, mostly for the ending, but I think I was being generous. I would give it three stars if I read it now I think.

 

2. A Popular Book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.

Gives Light (Gives Light, #1)
This was hard because I don’t normally read books that I know I won’t like, or rather that other people seem to hate. So, I’m going to go for a series that I love but doesn’t get any hype.

 

 

 

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT
want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like.

Ink and Bone (The Great Library, #1)


Jess and Morgan from The Great Library series. I don’t hate them, it doesn’t make me grit my teeth like Kell/Lila from Shades of Magic (Lila will get her turn further down) but it’s so aggressively meh. I care far more about the side pairings than I do Jess and Morgan, though I will admit it gets better in the second book. 

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

This was a hard one because everytime I thought of a genre (suspense, romance, contemporary), I would think of ten books I like from that genre and I would pick up if recommended enough. I think I’m going to go with horror, it’s not a genre I find myself browsing on Goodreads and it would have to be highly recced for me to read for it.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic, #1)


Anyone who reads my blog with any frequency is probably sick of me saying this but Lila Bard. I could rant about her all day. Part of my hate is fuelled by how everyone seems to love her to bits (save for a small few) but most of it is how we’re obviously supposed to like her and root for her and look at all these popular tropes thrown together in some resemblance of a character. She has a major flaw (recklessness with her own and other peoples’ lives) but it’s never treated as a flaw, rather just a character trait. 

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

Cassandra Clare. It is mostly because I am very aware of her fandom history (as Cassandra Claire), though thankfully I was not involved. It is also because I tried the City of Bones and disliked Clary, Jace, the girl hate, the world and Alec being in love with his brother.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

So many. Love triangles are pretty hard on the list, though I wouldn’t mind one which was a proper love triangle, rather than a strange V shape. Girl hate is another one, though I might not put it down as a trope.

I think one I hate most is the obligatory love interest, normally heterosexual. The high fantasy book isn’t complete without male main character having a girlfriend/wife (also normally dead to give him extra tragicness). The female main character, in between worrying about her strange new power and surviving to live another day, also has enough time to fawn over the pretty man who smiles at her. I was so glad when The Secret of Spellshadow Manor didn’t do this, despite hinting around the subject.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. If I didn’t have a ready dislike against CC (and I’m not a big fan of her writing either), this summary would be right up my alley. Everyone can rec it all they want but I won’t be reading.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

The Hobbit. Granted, I have only seen the first two films but I love how the dwarves have been expanded into actual characters rather than just being hobbit-sized creatures with beards and hats to Bilbo. I haven’t read Lord of the Rings yet, so I can’t say anything about that but I do love the films so keeping my fingers crossed for the books.


What did you think? Agree, disagree? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Unpopular Opinions Tag

  1. Pingback: The Mid Year Freak Out – Book Tag! – Birdie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

