Alphabethon Wrap Up

This was the third round of Alphabethon where the letter was ‘c’. My TBR is here. There were seven challenges for this round and I managed to complete six of them. I read all the books on my TBR but one of the books on my TBR didn’t fit the challenge (I must have been tired!).

Challenges

  • Read a book with three Cs. (Title, Author’s first name, and last name all begin with C)

A Caffeinated Collection of Curious Accounts
A Caffeinated Collection of Curious Accounts 
– this was a short collection of short stories, mostly fantasy/mythology based and they were all really interesting. I would mind some of the stories being turned into a longer novella.

  • Read a book with a MC (main Character) whose name starts with C.

A Family Affair (Truth in Lies, #1)
A Family Affair – Christine (the MC) discovers her father’s second family after he dies and, when she goes to confront them, finds herself discovering exactly what drew her father to them.

  • Read a book with a C setting. ( Town, City, State, etc. begins with C)

The Courage Tree
The Courage Tree – a child goes missing in the woods and two mothers’ desires to see their daughters safe go against each other. I liked this book, I flew through it, but I really found myself disliking a few of the characters.
I have absolutely no idea why I put this down for the ‘c’ setting. I might be getting it confused with another book? I started reading Dark Matter which is set in Chicago but didn’t finish it in time for the readathon.

  • Read a book that has a picture of something on the front or back cover that begins with C.

An Unsuitable Heir (Sins of the Cities, #3)
An Unsuitable Heir – This is the last book in the Sins of the Cities series and it wrapped everything up really nicely. This is a m/m historical romance, although Pen is nb. There is no label given so I wouldn’t know whether to call him (he uses he/him in the book) genderqueer or genderfluid. I love how it was handled (although I can’t say how the representation is) and the romance between the two main characters. I don’t think this is my favourite book of the series, but it was a satisfying conclusion nonetheless.

  • Read your book in a spot other than the Couch that begins with C for a total of an hour. (example: car, closet, at a counter)

Crown of Ice  (The Mirror of Immortality, #1)
Crown of Ice – a Snow Queen retelling which I read at various cafes in Broken Hill. I loved everything about this book except for the romance.

  • Read a book with a Count of over 400 pages

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet (Wayfarers, #1)
The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet – This was an unintentional addition to my TBR but thankfully, the author’s surname starts with ‘C’ and it is longer than 400 pages so it counts! As for the book itself, I loved it, I understand the hype. It was great.

  • Read a book with a Count of under 200 pages.

My Story: The Blitz
My Story: Blitz – a children’s book about a ten-year-old girl called Edie who lives in London during the Blitz. Despite not remembering why I bought this book, I enjoyed it. It was a quick read.

 

So a sort of successful readathon? At least I stuck to my TBR this time! I’m experimenting with different ways of doing readathon wrap ups so let me know how you feel about this way compared to my Booktubeathon Wrap Up. Did you take part in this readathon? How did you do? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

