Shadow and Bone

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite – the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfil her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Laini Taylor.

Goodreads, Amazon UK

Continue reading “Shadow and Bone”

Diversity Spotlight Thursday 02/03/2017

DIVERSE SPOTLIGHT

A book blogger meme hosted by Bookshelves and Paperbacks blog where the three main categories are:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

Again, I’m going to try and find books that haven’t been widely recced so it’s not the same books being seen over and over again.

Continue reading “Diversity Spotlight Thursday 02/03/2017”

Because Dragons Readathon Wrap Up

This was a readathon that was running parallel to TimeHopAThon so there was a small overlap with this TBR

Challenges:
1. Read a diverse fantasy book. (could be #ownvoices, could be a POC author, could be a diverse cast of characters, or set in a part of the (real) world you are not familiar with)
2. Read a fantasy book with a steamy romance.
3. Read a fantasy book with purple on the cover. (any amount is sufficient)
4. Read the next fantasy book in a series. (continue a series or start a new one)
5. Read a fantasy book with dragons in it. Because, duh.

Continue reading “Because Dragons Readathon Wrap Up”

Friday 56: Heartless

Another blog meme! This happens every Friday, hosted by Freda’s Voice, where you share an excerpt of a book you’ve read.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.
*It’s that simple.

I’ve chosen Heartless by Marissa Myer!

Heartless

‘Some say it is better to have eaten and lost than never to have eaten at all.’

She furrowed her brows, confused, but his sincerity never faltered.

‘In case you do get sick and the sweet makes its way back up again.’

‘That’s horrible.’

 

Heartless is an Alice in Wonderland prequel which focused on sweet, innocent Catherine who will turn into the villainous Queen of Hearts. I did enjoy this book but I think I would have enjoyed it more if I had read it at a different time. Sometimes you’re in the mood for certain kinds of books and unfortunately, I just wasn’t in the right mood for Heartless. That being said, I loved the romance of it and how the girl in the beginning of the book turned into the Queen of Hearts in the Alice in Wonderland books. It’s not a happy book but, like the above conversation highlights, it does capture the sheer weirdness and whimsy of Wonderland itself.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans. Summary from Goodreads.

Diversity Spotlight Thursday

DIVERSE SPOTLIGHT

A book blogger meme hosted by Bookshelves and Paperbacks blog where the three main catergories are:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

Basically, I always love new recs for books and taking part in this book meme will help me to find books that aren’t in the popular eye quite so much.

Continue reading “Diversity Spotlight Thursday”